A Few Questions Concerning OTR and New Audio Formats

View previous topic View next topic Go down

A Few Questions Concerning OTR and New Audio Formats

Post by Space Cadet on 12/12/2017, 6:56 pm

Hi Folks,

While I stay pretty much in the background, I am always watching over the place and looking for ways to meet the needs of the group and the hobby. I've noticed a definite interest in collecting in FLAC format and considered adding a sub-forum for collecting in that format. But having been through the various frustrations of determining what is an HQ audio file in the past, I've been a bit hesitant. And not being an audio expert, I'm not even sure that I can ask the right questions. So, here goes...

1) Is there enough interest, to justify a dedicated area to shows in FLAC format?
2) Should there be a set of standards, as to the quality of the shows shared there?
3) Is anyone doing initial encodes in FLAC, or are all of the available FLAC files just conversions from MP3?
4) Is it actually detrimental to the hobby in the long term, to attempt this at this time?
5) What aspects have I overlooked?
6) Will Space Cadet's latest harebrained idea give Nightkey a minor coronary, due to trying to correct the many errors, which are sure to appear? (I've been trying to avoid that for most of the last decade.)

Let's not forget. If you're truly involved in this hobby, you're attempting to preserve these shows for future generations. There's a biggest bestest newest hot diggity format, about every 8 to 10 years. And every conversion, tends to lose quality on some level.

Feel free to debate, ridicule or ignore this post.

Space
Space Cadet
Admin

View user profile http://cobaltclubannex.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Re: A Few Questions Concerning OTR and New Audio Formats

Post by mstevens90 on 12/12/2017, 9:30 pm

My flac files are from CD and and not mp3 files

mstevens90

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Post by kdmarket on 12/12/2017, 11:45 pm