An Old-Time Radio Collector’s Search for Their “Holy Grail”

Go down

An Old-Time Radio Collector’s Search for Their “Holy Grail” Empty An Old-Time Radio Collector’s Search for Their “Holy Grail”

Post by otrwashh on 6/26/2019, 7:49 am

INTRODUCTION:
Probably every OTR collector has their “Holy Grail”:  
the missing shows for a specific series
THEY REALLY WANT TO FIND!!!!

The quest for me started over 40 years ago; I wanted to collect a complete set of the series Gunsmoke.

ARCHIVAL RESEARCH BACKGROUND:
I have been conducting work- and/ or hobby-related research for over 50 years.

First, as a student working on earning a degree in Geography and professionally for over 35 years as a Cartographer and a Geographer. And, on the side, doing hobby-related research.

My work often involved doing detailed research to obtain the most accurate information possible. To obtain this information, I had to access and/or acquire a wide-range of historical and contemporary sources. In some cases, I had to travel to archives around the country. I was also required to provide detailed documentation on the sources of information.

I became recognized in my field as a highly reliable researcher who could find and integrate information that many others couldn't.

These skills were applied to my OTR quest.

THE EARLY DAYS
A lot less information was readily available on Old-Time Radio back in the late 1970’s.
Collecting was slower paced, tape was the medium used by collectors.  My OTR  collection grew slowly in the 1970’s and 80’s.
I didn’t even know how many Gunsmoke episodes were broadcast nor the titles of the episodes.

MODEST PROGRESS AND QUESTIONS